Skip to main content

Missa Brevis Akarana Full Score SATB divisi

Latin Mass

  • Music: Chris Artley
  • Lyrics: ordinarium missae
  • Voicing: with keyboard instruments, with instrumental accompaniment, 4-Part divisi
  • Component: Full Score
  • Details: 84 pages
  • ISMN: 979-0-50276-227-8
  • ISBN: 978-3-99069-114-4
Loading shop information

The Missa Brevis Akarana was commissioned by the Auckland Symphony Orchestra under the direction of Peter Thomas and reflects Chris Artley’s interest in classical church repertoire and jazz. The melodic line of the Kyrie is reminiscent of Palestrina’s motets. The polyphonic and homophonic settings are balanced while the harmonic soundscape is enhanced by jazz chords. After the devout Kyrie in minor, a lively, dance-like Gloria in major – always surprising by its unexpected progressions – follows. Thus, the principal theme moves between G major and E major – Baroque sounds mix with chord progressions à la Bill Evans. The Sanctus is impressive due to its slow, Gershwin-like introduction that blends into rhythmic Latin sounds, ending after a triumphant Hosanna in a large-scale jazz finale. Gentle harp sounds accompanying the soprano and tenor open the Benedictus before the choir and orchestra join in. A further highlight is the solo violin that shines with a lyrical and ornamental melody. The Agnus Dei once again combines elements of classical church music tradition and jazz in catchy melodies accompanied by the strings. The entire mass can be performed using two settings:

  • Choir SATB divisi and organ
  • Choir SATB divisi, orchestra and optional organ

Content: Kyrie - Gloria - Sanctus - Benedictus - Agnus Dei

Not exactly what you are looking for?

Have another try here:

All titles Search