By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.
What are Cookies?

Fantasies for the piano (First edition)

Anselm Hüttenbrenner (1794–1868)
Critical First Edition , edited by Michael Aschauer

Author(s): Hüttenbrenner, Anselm; Aschauer, Michael (Hrsg.)
ISBN: 9783990692127
Order no.: W8928
Release date: September 2021
€ 22.50 (incl. VAT, excl. postage & packaging)
Add to wish list

This item has not yet been published.
If you pre-order this item now, we will send it to you as soon as it becomes available. Please place your pre-order with our Customer Service.

Please notify me as soon as this item becomes available.


Anselm Hüttenbrenner, a friend and fellow student of Franz Schubert and a respected pianist himself, left an impressive oeuvre of piano music. Picking up initially on the style of Viennese Classicism and of Schubert, he developed an independent musical language of extraordinary quality and of great diversity of style, which is characterized especially by expressive harmonic progressions.

This volume brings together four musically very different, and in part highly virtuoso fantasias. Each of these effective concert pieces represents a certain phase of Hüttenbrenner’s creative activity, therefore together they are an illustrative reflection of his journey as a composer. An early work, classical in character, from his student days as a member of Schubert’s circle in Vienna, is followed by his impressive Fantaisie tragique, dedicated to the distinguished pianist Caroline Perthaler, which he composed during his time as artistic director of the Styrian Musical Society. The fantasia Die Sehnsucht nach dem Ideale (Yearning for the Ideal), which continues the style of his Ghostly Scenes forms the grandiose climax of this group of works, before Die Erinnerung an die Besteigung des Bachern (Reminiscence of the Ascent of Pohorje) reveals Hüttenbrenner’s move into a late style which, precisely because of its subtle simplicity, points the way into the future.

This present first edition fulfils all the requirements of musicology and musical practice. It provides a clearly laid out notation, together with a comprehensive preface and a detailed critical report in both English and German.